Last Updated: Wednesday, September 5, 2012

(Live Updates) Massive earthquake in San Jose, Costa Rica: 2 killed


Disaster Report: M 7.9 earthquake shakes San Jose, Costa Rica today, the U.S. Geological Survey reported.
Want to submit a News tip or story idea? Click here
Keep this page open or visit later to get update report.

Original post: Natural Disasters List September 5, 2012
Related posts:
Magnitude 7.3 quake hits off El Salvador: Tsunami warning for Costa Rica
Recent Natural Disasters In Costa Rica

Did you feel this earthquake? - Share your experiences
This is a breaking story and we will update it as we get more information. Below are the live updates on today's Costa Rica earthquake.
For live updates, follow us @ facebook (Disaster Report), twitter (Disaster_Update) and Google +(Disaster Report)

Hit Refresh To Get Update News

.
Important Updates
-The local news reports say that the 2 people that died are due to heart attacks in the town of Filadelfia, not far from Nicoya, which is roughly 10 kilometers from the epicenter.
-The CNE (National Emergency Comission) declared a red alert in all the country.
-A tsunami warning was issued for Costa Rica, Panama and Nicaragua, but later cancelled.
-Quake collapsed some houses and landslides blocked two roads in Hojancha.
-Moderate aftershocks still being recorded. So far 200+ aftershocks have been recorded in last 12 hours.
Twitter @ skasoul; damage believed to be caused by the earthquake in Costa Rica.


A wall at the University of Costa Rica's school of electrical engineering damaged after an earthquake in San Jose, Costa Rica




 

Update 17:55 UTC
Following Red Cross Officials, two people dead in quake in Costa Rica. Dozen of peoples are having
treatment in hospitals.

Update 17:17 UTC
One women reported to be dead from a heart attack suffered during the earthquake. Around 30 people people reported to be injured. Injured people are having treatment currently at various clinics in Filadelfia, Guanacaste.

Update 17:07 UTC
Roads leading in and out of Samara are reported to be blocked due to landslides. Costa Rica is prone to landslide disaster. In 2010, a landslide in Costa Rica caused by heavy rain killed at least 20 people in a suburb of the capital, San Jose.

Update 17:04 UTC
Costa Rica President Chinchilla says no early report of loss of life so far after powerful Costa Rica earthquake.

Update 16:56 UTC
@ ar15.com forum: Still no word from my sister or her fiancé. They were farther down the Pacific Coast in Manuel Antonio. Usually they live in Jaco. My little brother heard that they are evacuating Jaco and moving people away from the ocean as a precaution. Hopefully his and my sisters property there is alright and undamaged.
My mom just lost battery backup power at her house, so I can't talk to her till power comes back up. They need to invest in a generator, but I know how expensive some of those are there since everything is imported. A lot of their house runs off solar power.

Update 16:48 UTC
New bulletin issued by PACIFIC TSUNAMI WARNING CENTER/NOAA/NWS regarding Costa Rica earthquake (ISSUED AT 1623Z 05 SEP 2012):
A TSUNAMI WARNING IS IN EFFECT FOR COSTA RICA / PANAMA / NICARAGUA

Update 16:40 UTC
Situtaion is reported to be worse in Playas del Coco area. There is no electricity and water in this region. People of these coastal areas are still outside their house due to possible fear of Tsunami. Note that earlier Tsunami warning for this region is lifted.

Update 16:30 UTC
@ inside Costa Rica: Javier Valverde , a Guanacaste resident : “Currently things are okay, it was very strong but the Nicoya gulf was mostly  affected, therefore, the tsunami alert. I am currently in a hotel in Playa Langosta. Tourists are being taken to higher grounds, about at least 30 meters above sea level.

Update 16:26 UTC
@ Reuters: Residents of San Jose said phones went down, electricity poles rattled on the streets and water flowed out of pools during the quake, but the Red Cross said no casualties had been reported so far.
It was the biggest earthquake in Costa Rica since a 7.6 quake in 1991 left 47 dead. More recently, 40 people died in a 6.1 magnitude quake in January 2009.

Update 16:14 UTC
Eyewitness reaction on Costa Rica quake (Tumblr):
I was at school and I was doing my math work and all of a sudden my pencil starts moving back and forth, I felt really sick and my thoughts were “Shit, I’m going to faint, I didn’t have enough for breakfast” but then a girl in my class was like “es temblando?!” (Which means is there an Earthquake) And the teacher said “Is there really?” And another student said “Oh my god, it is!”
My also panicking mother arrived quickly since the house is 5 mins from the school.
My house has almost no damage except the pool spilled and the house is all wet since it was an indoor pool. The windows shook but luckily nothing broke.
And that was my First Earthquake.


Update 16:11 UTC
A bridge in Sarapiqui collapsed. Damage also reported in hospitals in Puntarenas and Heredia.
Se despicho el hospi del puerto el quinto pisooo #temblorcr t.co
Update 15:58 UTC
Several Office buildings in San Jose have been evacuated.
Chile says it has canceled the tsunami alert warning for its coastline following the Coast Rica earthquake.

Update 15:52 UTC
There is report of landslides around epicenter area. Note that Samar, the popular tourist beach is close to epicenter.

Update 15:50 UTC
Minor damages are reported at the University of Costa Rica. Most tsunami alerts have been canceled but remain in effect for Costa Rica, Panama, and Nicaragua as well as Chile.

Update 15:48 UTC
Local media in Costa Rica are calling this EQ, "the famous Nicoya earthquake everyone has been waiting for"

Update 15:45 UTC
Pacific Tsunami Warning Center says if a tsunami was generated, these are the estimated times in which the initial wave would reach the shore:

Cabo San Elena, Costa Rica - 15:10 Z (11:10 AM ET)
Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica - 15:18 Z (11:18 AM ET)
Puerto Quepos, Costa Rica - 15:36 Z (11:36 AM ET)

Punta Burica, Panama - 15:27 Z (11:27 AM ET)
Punta Mala, Panama - 16:15 Z (12:15 PM ET)
Puerto Pina, Panama - 16:31 Z (12:31 PM ET)
Balboa Heights, Panama - 17:42 Z (1:42 PM ET)

San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua - 15:31 Z (11:31 AM ET)
Corinto, Nicaragua - 15:46 Z (11:46 AM ET)
Puerto Sandino, Nicaragua - 15:50 Z (11:50 AM ET)

Update 15:32 UTC
According to GDACS, this earthquake is expected to have a medium humanitarian impact based on the magnitude and the affected population and their vulnerability. The earthquake happened in Costa Rica , Province of Guanacaste (population 226,557)  with epicenter located just 10 km NE of Hojancha. The maximum altitude nearby is 1853m. Orange Earthquake alert in Costa Rica.

Update 15:27 UTC
Some communications failed in the Central Valley, perhaps due to thousands of persons being on cellphones and land lines. This is common as majority people hang on cell phones to know the situation of their friends and relatives.

Update 15:25 UTC
There are initial reports of some damage in the Central Valley where many homes suffered at least falling objects. There are evn reports of trees falling elsewhere.

Update 15:19 UTC
Next NOAA message:
THE TSUNAMI WATCH FOR THE CARIBBEAN IS CANCELLED BECAUSE IT WAS
 MEANT FOR THE PACIFIC AND WAS INADVERTANTLY SENT TO THE CARIBBEAN
 BY MISTAKE.  WE APOLOGIZE FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE THIS MAY HAVE
 CAUSED.

Update 15:16 UTC
Following USGS PAGER MAP, very strong shaking of MMI VI will have felt by the people of Hojancha, Nicoya, Nandayure, Santa Cruz, Samara and Belen. Strong to moderate shaking will have felt by the people of San Jose, Masaya, Managua, Leon and David.

Update 15:13 UTC
Following NOAA,
A TSUNAMI WATCH IS IN EFFECT FOR

 BRAZIL / BARBADOS / TRINIDAD TOBAGO / FRENCH GUIANA /
 SAINT LUCIA / MARTINIQUE / ST VINCENT / DOMINICA / BARBUDA /
 GUADELOUPE / MONTSERRAT / ANTIGUA / SAINT KITTS / ANGUILLA /
 GRENADA / SAINT MARTIN / SAINT MAARTEN / DOMINICAN REP /
 TURKS N CAICOS / BONAIRE / CURACAO / BAHAMAS / VENEZUELA /
 HAITI / BERMUDA / SURINAME / ARUBA / CUBA / GUYANA / COLOMBIA /
 JAMAICA / GRAND CAYMAN / CAYMAN BRAC / PANAMA / MEXICO /
 HONDURAS / COSTA RICA / BELIZE / NICARAGUA / GUATEMALA

Update 15:12 UTC
Felt reports are being received from wide across Costa Rica including Panama, Nicaragua and El Salvador.
This is what local media mentions:
Um sismo de magnitude 7.9 na abalou a Costa Rica, segundo indica o instituto geológico norte-americano USGS.

O forte abalo foi registado próximo da costa, a oito quilómetros de Samara, zona de praias tropicais do Pacífico.

A Marinha do Chile emitiu alerta de Tsunami. As autoridades estão em estado de alerta para a ocorrência de tsunami no mar das Caraíbas e nas zonas costeiras do Brasil, México e países da América Central.

Update 15:10 UTC
USGS has lowered the magnitude to 7.6 with epicenter location as follow (Yet is very dangerous)
60 km (38 miles) SSE (167°) from Liberia, Costa Rica
127 km (79 miles) SSW (209°) from San Carlos, Nicaragua
141 km (88 miles) W (276°) from SAN JOSE, Costa RicaM 7.9 earthquake shakes San Jose, Costa Rica

M 7.9 earthquake shakes San Jose, Costa Rica today, the U.S. Geological Survey reported.

According to the U.S. Geological Survey, the quake was located 80 km (50 miles) S (180°) from Liberia and 153 km (95 miles) W (268°) from SAN JOSE. It was 12.4 miles deep.

There were no immediate reports of damage or injuries.
14:42 UTC (local time Wednesday, September 05, 2012 at 08:42 AM @ epicenter )

Epicenter location

80 km (50 miles) S (180°) from Liberia, Costa Rica
151 km (94 miles) SSW (209°) from San Carlos, Nicaragua
153 km (95 miles) W (268°) from SAN JOSE, Costa Rica

Related posts:
Magnitude 7.3 quake hits off El Salvador: Tsunami warning for Costa Rica
Recent Natural Disasters In Costa Rica

Do you have news or information you want to share with Disaster Report. Simply complete the form and click Submit Form.