Last Updated: Monday, September 16, 2013

Tropical Storm Manuel and Hurricane Ingrid kill 20 in Mexico


Heavy flooding and massive landslides caused by Tropical Storm Manuel and Hurricane Ingrid have claimed lives of at least 20 people in Mexico.

At least 14 died in the southwestern state of Guerrero and six in the central states of Puebla and Hidalgo.

More than 2,000 people left their homes while 21,000 households are without power in Guerrero, AFP reported quoting emergency management officials.

As of 11 a.m. PDT September 15 (1800 UTC September 15), Tropical Storm Manuel was located about 15 km southeast of Manzanillo, Mexico.

An "orange alert" (high risk) in southern Michoacan, and "yellow" (moderate) alert in rest of Michoacan and Guerrero have already been issued.

Hurricane Ingrid is the ninth tropical storm and second hurricane of the 2013 Atlantic hurricane season. As of 7 p.m. CDT September 15 (0000 UTC September 16), Hurricane Ingrid was located about 200 km east-northeast of Tampico, Mexico and about 200 km east-southeast of La Pesca, Mexico.

Tropical Storm Manuel made landfall on the Pacific side while Ingrid, a category one hurricane, is expected to reach the coast on the Gulf of Mexico on Monday.

Original post: Natural Disasters List September 15, 2013